Mah Ma

I recently finished reading “Are You My Mother?” by Alison Bechdel. It was an interesting read, both from a human and emotional point of view and equally so from a psychological development one. A nice snapshot of how human nurture becomes a second kind of nature we must relate to in some way. But what this drama comic made me realise is the simplistic nature of my own relationship to my mother. How straightforward that relationship is and how…less than common that might be. It’s not a relationship I’ve ever questioned or even examined more closely. It’s simply warmth and comfort.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had my ups and downs with my mother and there are few people who have the ability to test my patience like her. But with my own maturing age comes a bigger understanding of how those things are mostly linked to our similarities and the anger and frustration usually stems from my own insecurities. That and how I really don’t like shopping, something she does.

The intensity of the privileges this affords me is not lost on me. It’s paved a solid foundation of self-assuredness that withstands most everything you throw down upon it, even the vicious tendrils of inexplicable anxiety and the relentless stalking by self-loathing.

But the sun is shining so enough.

~ by Ape on May 19, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
