I want to stop and smell the alien.

G’Kar (I’m watching Babylon 5) is so fucking pretty I get weird feelings. The design of both the Narn race and this particular individual is immensely pleasing to me. I can’t quite pinpoint what it is, but they’ve managed combine childhood nightmare and ephemeral spiritual beauty. He becomes the fallen angel, both divine and demonic.

The costume is just so well-crafted. It’s not necessarily the most original of takes as the reptilian features are both noticeable and common place in sci-fi. Still there is something in the way they’ve tied prosthetic make-up with wardrobe and the actor’s presence in the role that makes him/it stand out. Furthermore Babylon 5 is so good at creating background and atmosphere to the different alien presences that I think maybe that is part of the allure.

Whatever it is, it’s making me want to freeze-frame and just sit and stare a little whenever they do a close-up. Some people appreciates life’s little wonders by stopping and smelling the roses, I on the other hand I stop and let my eye linger on the alien. Taking a moment to appreciate all the hard work and the wondrous creativity that went into creating something like this.

It’s the small things like that which makes me love humanity and Science Fiction. Mostly Science Fiction.

~ by Ape on March 11, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
