I’m watching “Treme”.

I think I like it. No wait, I know I like it. It’s just that… it’s one of those shows that fills you with a lot of emotions and they’re not all good. And that doesn’t sound right either, sounds too childish. Let me try and explain.

I’m fascinated by New Orleans. I spent my Bachelor of Arts studying how cultures and space come together to create new norms and new traditions (material and metaphysical). So yeah, a place like New Orleans with the kind of history that space and its inhabitants have… It’s the embodiment of things I’ve spent a lot of time studying in other places and in theory. So of course I’m fascinated. Something that only grew stronger when I visited a couple of years ago and couldn’t quite shake the feeling of the city, even after I left. It wasn’t love and it wasn’t hate, but it was strong. Mortality, vitality and morbidity in an almost neutral mix of…maybe it’s best described as beauty.

So obviously I went into this with preconceived notions and a previously existing interest in the culture and the events during and after Hurricane Katrina (the show starts three months after Katrina). To my great pleasure the show both continues on in the same tracks that my emotions concerning the city were already running, but it is also showing me new aspects and lets me come a little closer and understand a little better through emphatically well written fiction.

Treme might be considered an ensemble show, but it has only one lead and that’s New Orleans. It takes a few episodes to get into this mindframe, because I’m so used to television glorifying and telling the story of the individual human being. This isn’t like that, far from it. This is a web of stories spread across the core of a city with a heart and soul. These people, their stories, become adjectives used to describe the very real and bipolar protagonist and antagonist, New Orleans.

It’s a refreshing take on how to create a television narrative using very tangible and comprehensible parts in order to tell the story of an abstract but real concept. And it’s catnip for anyone interested in the city and culture in itself. I’ve only seen eight episodes so far, but so far I…well…I feel it. I feel a lot.

~ by Ape on February 27, 2013.

2 Responses to “I’m watching “Treme”.”

  1. So glad you’re enjoying it! 30 Rock made a joke about not wanting to watch it, which was a downer, only for Liz Lemon to come back saying once you start watching, it’s really good and hard to put down. Or something like that. It was good, because that’s what watching Tremé is like, however she put it.

    • It took a few episodes to get really into. Because I’m so used to television being all about the individuals, but this really isn’t. But once I stopped trying to see it as I see most stuff it got really good. And then Janette lost her restaurant and LaDonna found her brother and that shit hurt. It wasn’t just about their personal pain even if the empathy for them is part of what made my heart ache, but at the same time it continued to be about the larger picture. This catastrophe, this city, these people in plural.

      And Liz Lemon is right. Liz Lemon is almost always right. Almost.

Leave a Reply

 
